Join us on Facebook Check out some fine contra dance videos on our YouTube channel! Email us Schedule of Dances and Special Events

Friday Dance Schedule Free beginner-friendly lesson: 7:30 to 8 p.m.    No partner needed    Please arrive promptly
Contra dance: 8 to 11 p.m.    Free refreshments at 9:30 p.m. Saturday Dance Schedule Free beginner-friendly lesson: 7 to 7:30 p.m.    No partner needed    Please arrive promptly
Contra dance: 7:30 to 10:30 p.m.    Free refreshments at 9 p.m. Location 3030 Thorn Street, San Diego, CA 92104  in the hall of Trinity United Methodist Church

Our Dance Schedule

Our dances are usually held on the first and third Fridays and the second and fourth Saturdays of each month except when we reschedule to accommodate touring bands and callers, church events, or calendar oddities. Where appropriate, further information regarding special events is provided in the Special Events section below. For information on discounted prices, see our complete price schedule below. Please note: By popular demand, we have rescheduled our Saturday dances to begin and end one-half hour earlier than our Friday dances; please see the schedule above.

LEGEND

Local caller or local band Guest caller or guest band Link to the website of a guest caller or band Special announcements, events, and workshops

Fri, Mar. 3 Chris Page More the Merrier $10

Sat, Mar. 11 Martha Wild Crooked $10

Fri, Mar. 17 Frannie Marr Laura Light, Emil Olguín, and Terrell Jones $12

Sat, Mar. 25 The Blue and Gold Ball (at the Champion Ballroom)  •  Details below FREE!

Fri, Mar. 31 Martha Wild Crooked $10

Sat, Apr. 8 James Hutson More the Merrier $12

Fri, Apr. 14 JoAnn Koppany Figure 8 $10

Fri, Apr. 21 Andrea Nettleton Rex Blazer, Seth Houston, and Jeff Spero $15

Fri, Apr. 28 Frannie Marr Buddy System $12

Fri, May 5 Chris Page More the Merrier $10

Sat, May 13 Contra Skills Workshop with Frannie Marr, 4-6 p.m.  •  Details TBA TBA

Sat, May 13 Frannie Marr TBA TBA

Fri, May 19 JoAnn Koppany Ashley Broder, George Paul, and Ben Schreiber $12

Sat, May 27 Chris Page TBA TBA

Fri, June 2 Martha Wild Crooked $10

Sat, June 10 JoAnn Koppany Figure 8 $10

Fri, June 16 TBA TBA TBA

Sat, June 24 Chris Page More the Merrier $10

Fri, June 30 Martha Wild Crooked $10

Sat, July 8 TBA Figure 8 $10

Fri, July 14 Chris Page More the Merrier $10

Sat, July 22 Martha Wild Crooked $10

Fri, July 28 Frannie Marr The Privy Tippers $12

Special Events

The Blue and Gold Ball: This event will be the wedding reception for our esteemed caller Chris Page and his lovely bride Melinda Layden, and it's by open invitation! If you would like, bring a potluck dish for dinner at 4 p.m. The Ball runs from 6 to 11 p.m., with music provided by Syncopaths members Jeff Spero and Ashley Broder, and Ben Schreiber from Uncle Farmer! Contra dances and English Country dances will be taught, and no dance experience is necessary. Costumes of any era or fandom are admired, but not required. At the event you can also indulge in one of Chris and Melinda's favorite pastimes: board games! Don't miss this once-in-a-lifetime event—come dance, eat, and have fun! Saturday, March 25th at the Champion Ballroom, 4255 Ruffin Road, Suite 200, San Diego, CA 92123. (Get directions here.) Admission is FREE!

Our Price Schedule Anna Levitt, fiddler, vocalist, and spiritual leader of the band Crooked

GENERAL ADMISSION:
Local caller and band:  $10
Guest caller or guest band:  $12
Guest caller and guest band:  $15

STUDENTS AND ACTIVE MILITARY, WITH ID:
Local caller and band:  $6
Guest caller or guest band:  $8
Guest caller and guest band:  $10

CHILDREN 12 YEARS AND UNDER:  Free

AT OR AFTER THE BREAK:
Half-price, dependent on above schedule.

First-time contra dancers receive free passes to attend their second dance event. Refreshments at the break are free of charge.